Business Franchise Australia


FANZ – Franchise Awards 2012/13

This year will be the 18th annual Westpac New Zealand Franchise Awards, which will celebrate and showcase many of the country’s highest performers in the franchising community and is open to any Member of the Association or Member’s franchisee.

All entrants to the Awards benefit from the unique opportunity to have their businesses independently evaluated against others in their sector. Award winners receive a trophy for display and receive substantial media coverage. The Award entries will be assessed by qualified business award evaluators, who will rigorously analyse and test each entrant by looking at their planning, return on investment and customer satisfaction as well as overall performance. The evaluation panel members will operate under the guidance of the New Zealand Business Excellence Foundation and all entries will ultimately be reviewed by the Judging Panel under the internationally recognised Baldrige Criteria. Changes to the criteria are frequently made to ensure they match proven performance standards and this year the Awards’ scoring matrix has receive added value in the Leadership and the Business Planning criteria.

The Baldrige criteria promote awareness of performance excellence as an increasingly important element in competitiveness. To receive an Award based on the Baldrige criteria an organisation must have a management system that ensures continuous improvement in the delivery of products and/or services, demonstrates efficient and effective operations, and provides a way of engaging and responding to customers and other stakeholders.

Last year’s Supreme Franchise System was awarded to Paper Plus New Zealand Ltd and the Supreme Franchisee of the Year to Columbus Coffee, Ashburton.

The New Zealand Franchise Awards takes place on 17th November 2012 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Auckland. Attending this year’s Awards will also be delegates from the 13 franchise associations that comprise the Asia Pacific Franchise Confederation who are meeting in Auckland during the two days prior to the Awards night.

The Award categories are:

  • Business Services
  • Food and Beverage
  • Home Services
  • Lifestyle Services
  • Retail

Awards are available for both franchisor
and franchisee entrants.

Special Award categories are:


  • The Master Franchisee Award
  • The Service Provider Award
  • The Media Campaign of the Year Award
  • The Franchise Export Award
  • The Supreme Franchise System Award

and the Franchisee of the Year Awards are chosen from the winners of their owncategories.