The Cheesecake Shop announces top franchisees 2015


The exciting Awards Night was held at Ivy Ballroom in the heart of Sydney’s CBD on October 14th where Julie Tan from Morley was not only honoured with this prestigious award but also celebrated 20 years to the day with The Cheesecake Shop!

Judged for their combination of retail sales, customer and mystery shopper results as well as compliance of meeting attendance and strategic business initiatives, each winner received a Vera Wang Wedgewood Cake Serving Set with the winner and all finalists also submitted into the 2016 Franchise Council Of Australia’s Excellence In Franchising Awards.

Delegates celebrated another sweet and successful year at The Cheesecake Shop’s Annual Franchisee Conference, which began at the Coogee Pavilion on the night of Tuesday 13th October and was followed by a full-day conference on Wednesday 14th October at the stunning location of Crown Plaza Coogee.

The group were presented with exciting artisanal product plans and strategic promotional campaigns before Tom O’Toole from the Beechworth Bakery added some spice with his stories of success and business insights for the group; making the event a source of entertainment, education and inspiration.

Nearly 300 delegates from Australia and New Zealand attended from the growing network, now numbering close to 200 bakeries. Joining the bakery network was leading UK franchisee, Joyce Smith from Long Eaton in Nottingham, as well as key suppliers and partners including Allied Mills, Bulla, Baker Street, Mondelēz and CSR.

The Gala Dinner was literally the icing on the cake; with an ‘Artisanal’ theme, franchisees enjoyed a gourmet dinner and dancing, making it an exciting and memorable night for all with Julie and other finalists receiving their awards and celebrating in style.

Other state and NZ finalists for the Franchisee of the Year award honours included:

NSW:  Syed Shah of The Cheesecake Shop Campbelltown

NZ:  Paul Maguire of The Cheesecake Shop Manukau

QLD: Darren & Debbie Nielsen of The Cheesecake Shop Hervey Bay

SA/NT: Vipin and Astha Chandel of The Cheesecake Shop Gawler

VIC/ACT/TAS: Michael Cleland & Sandra King of The Cheesecake Shop Boronia

“Year after year our Franchisee of the Year awards continue to be a very tight competition, at both state and national levels, as so many franchisees raise the bar with their commitment to quality, service and overall brand building in their local community. Julie has done an exceptional job this last year and over her 20 years with us, and so many others have also shown commitment to our standards and customer satisfaction.” National Marketing Manager Avril-Summer Cusack commented.

Also receiving congratulations on outstanding success were franchisees that had performed consistently high in the Artisan of the Year Awards, with the overall 2015 win awarded to Sonya & Tony Gruevski of The Cheesecake Shop in South Morang, Victoria.

The Cheesecake Shop also recognised their 2015 Employee of the Year (Peter Dable) and presented an Appreciation Award (to Francoise Sikora) for 22 years of dedicated service.