Dymocks – Franchise Bookseller of the Year


Dymocks Melbourne has been acclaimed the national 2013 Franchise Bookseller of the Year at the 2012 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA).

Known as the ‘Academy Awards’ for books, the annual awards pay tribute to the book industry’s most outstanding authors, illustrators, booksellers and publishers across the country. Four of Dymocks’ other bookstores – Brisbane, Adelaide, Garden City and Hobart – were also among the six finalists to be nominated for the prestigious national award.

Dymocks Melbourne, franchise owner Dino Traverso, was thrilled to receive the award and acknowledges his hardworking team for their continued dedication and passion for delivering expert advice and service to the Melbourne community.

“The ABIA award is one of the most significant accolades we could be bestowed with. Recognition from our industry peers is the highest acclaim and it is gratifying that our commitment and efforts to be a leading Australian bookstore have not gone unnoticed,” said Mr Traverso.

“I’d like to thank my hardworking and passionate team who go above and beyond to offer our community expert advice and service,” said Mr Traverso.

Dymocks’ Managing Director Steve Cox said the success of Dymocks stores in the awards was a reflection of the team spirit he believes gives Dymocks its competitive advantage.

“Dymocks has a strong 130 year-old heritage in Australia and we’ve made deliberate efforts to showcase Australian authors and support the local community at every step of the journey. Locally owned and operated, at the heart of our bookstores across the country are a passionate team of booklovers to serve every customer,” said Mr Cox.

“This is an extraordinary achievement by Dino and his team. I’d like to congratulate all our stores for their tireless efforts to service the Australian booklover community and promote a lifelong passion for reading,” concluded Mr Cox.

For more information on Dymocks, visit www.dymocks.com.au

For more information on the 2013 Australian Book Industry Awards, visit the Australian Publishers Association website at www.publishers.asn.au.