Goodyear Autocare Boronia named Australian ‘National Dealer of the Year’


Goodyear Autocare Boronia has been presented with the coveted ‘National Dealer of the Year’ award at the Australian Goodyear Autocare conference, held at the Langham Place Hotel, Hong Kong, from April 24-27.

Bringing together Goodyear Autocare’s national network of franchisees, the conference celebrated and recognised excellence in tyre and automotive servicing, with Goodyear Autocare Boronia capping off an excellent year by taking home the top prize across the 130 store, Australia-wide network.

Goodyear Autocare Boronia franchisee Gary Merz said that he was honoured to receive the award, which was presented at a Gala Dinner in the company of more than 210 franchisees, Goodyear associates and representatives from across the supplier network.

“Winning this award came as a real surprise; it’s such a fantastic achievement to share with my team members, Leigh Girginis, Jason Morrison and Tom Peachey. It’s really rewarding to see that our efforts have been recognised, and incredibly satisfying to show the team that their consistent hard work has paid off,” said Gary.

During the two years that Gary has owned Goodyear Autocare Boronia, the business has gone from strength to strength, establishing itself as a friendly, local dealer which offers a high standard of service, resulting in the business’ continued success.

“None of this would be possible without our devoted customer base or the support of Goodyear, both of which we’re very lucky to have. I’m certain our customers will be pleased to know they’re being serviced by the Goodyear Autocare ‘National Dealer of the Year!’” continued Gary.

Nominated franchisees were judged across a number of business areas such as operational standards, range of services offered, customer feedback, brand standards and sales measures, amongst others.

In addition to the national and state dealer of year awards, selected stores and franchisees within the Goodyear Autocare network that have shown consistent excellence across business criteria were inducted into the Goodyear Autocare ‘Hall of Fame’ as further recognition of their efforts.

This year’s conference also exposed Goodyear Autocare franchisees to a wide range of initiatives to assist in growing their businesses; including showcasing innovative product ranges yet to be released to the market, new sales and marketing campaigns, improved customer service programs and other developments to the Goodyear Autocare franchise network.


National Goodyear Autocare Dealer of the Year
Goodyear Autocare Boronia, VIC – Gary Merz

NSW/ACT Goodyear Autocare Dealers of the Year
Goodyear Autocare Gungahlin, ACT – Matt Whyte (metro winner)
Goodyear Autocare Coffs Harbour, NSW – Nathan Quinn (rural winner)

VIC/TAS Goodyear Autocare Dealers of the Year
Goodyear Autocare Boronia, VIC – Gary Merz (metro winner)
Goodyear Autocare Shepparton, VIC – Rod Poliness and Geoff Wright (rural winner)

QLD Goodyear Autocare Dealers of the Year
Goodyear Autocare Enoggera, QLD – Bob Dunn and Darren Luback (metro winner)
Goodyear Autocare Roma, QLD – Peter Moloney (rural winner)

SA/WA/NT Goodyear Autocare Dealers of the Year
Goodyear Autocare Kadina, SA – Roly Francis (metro winner)

Goodyear Autocare Hall of Fame Inductees
Sam Nash (Goodyear Autocare St. Kilda)
Greg Church (Goodyear Autocare Bayswater)
Mark Pearce (Goodyear Autocare Launceston)
Steve Longey (Goodyear Autocare Huonville)
Alan Hillery (Goodyear Autocare Erina)
Roly Francis (Goodyear Autocare Kadina and Goodyear Autocare Balaklava)
Barney Menzies (Goodyear Autocare Bowen)
Lou Mandanici (Goodyear & Dunlop Tyres Australia)