NAB FCA Excellence in Franchising Award winners honoured at Gala Dinner


Optometrist franchise Specsavers took home two major prizes on the evening – Established Franchisor of the Year and Excellence in Marketing. 

Global Retail Director and GM for Australia and New Zealand, Derek Dyson, was very proud of the win. 

“To win Established Franchisor of the Year will mean an incredible amount to our (franchise) partners who work so hard each day in their own businesses,” he said. 

“The award criteria were focused on systems and franchise leadership as well depth of support levels for franchisees, so to win this is also a great testament to how well we work with our partners. The Excellence in Marketing award is a perfect example of the lengths we go to in our support role.”

Health and fitness franchise, Plus Fitness took out Emerging Franchisor of the Year at the event. Franchisors John Fuller and Nigel Miller, who are opening four new clubs this week, said the awards process helped them understand where their focus needs to be in a rapidly growing business.

“We have 82 franchisees with 69 clubs open – which will actually be 73 as of tomorrow. Our franchisees will be just over the moon about this award,” they said.

There were 15 awards presented on the evening, proudly sponsored by NAB. Successful individuals and businesses were recognised across a range of functions including franchisees, support staff and franchise innovators. (Full list below)

Accepting the award for Excellence in International Franchising, G.J. Gardner Homes CEO Darren Wallis said the award is a major achievement for the business and endorses the strategy of sustainable growth especially within the US market.   

“Our approach to international expansion isn’t just focussed on selecting the right location, it’s about finding the right people to grow the business and provide plenty of support and resources. 

“The G.J. Gardner Homes model in Australia and abroad is based on giving small builders the skills, resources and systems to take their building business to the next level,” Darren said.

The awards also included the induction of a new member into the Franchise Hall of Fame – Denis McFadden from Just Cuts, along with the annual Contribution to Franchising award which went to Derek Sutherland from HWL Ebsworth for his tireless work on the FCA Legal Committee.
FCA Chairman, Michael Paul said the awards are a terrific opportunity to celebrate some of the amazing work being done in the franchise sector.

“The finalists, regional winners and national winners acknowledged tonight showcase what a truly robust and thriving sector Australian franchising really is. Despite economic hardship and political uncertainty in recent times, ours is a sector that continues to grow, and with proven systems, established brands, and constant innovation, franchising continues to be the intelligent choice for small business owners across the country,” Mr Paul said.

NAB FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards 2013 Winners

Established Franchisor of the Year – Specsavers
Sponsored by Horizon Communication Group

Emerging Franchisor of the Year – Plus Fitness
Sponsored by 10 Thousand Feet

Multi-Unit Franchisee of the Year – Caroline and Paul Attard, PoolWerx

Franchisee of the Year, two or more staff – Anthony Hamod, Fastway Couriers Wollongong

Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff – Tim MacKinley, Appliance Tagging Services Aspley

Franchise Woman of the Year – Debb Meyer, Narellan Pools

Supplier of the Year – FC Business Solutions

Field Manager of the Year – Adam Moody, Wendys Supa Sundaes
Sponsored by 10 Thousand Feet

Excellence in Marketing – Specsavers
Sponsored by Horizon Communication Group

Excellence in International Franchising – G.J Gardner Homes
Sponsored by CST Tax Advisors

Franchise Innovation – Bartercard International Group

Franchisor Social Responsibility – Battery World Australia

Franchisee Community Service – Bendigo Bank, North Perth

Contribution to Franchising – Derek Sutherland, HWL Ebsworth Lawyers

Franchise Hall of Fame Inductee 2013 – Denis McFadden, Just Cuts