SA’s best in franchising announced at Excellence in Franchising Awards


The Franchise Council of Australia (FCA) recognised franchising’s best in South Australia on Friday night at the Seek Commercial FCA SA Excellence in Franchising Awards for 2015.

Winners at the event included Zambrero’s Chris Scott, who took home the SA Multi-Unit Franchisee of the Year Award, and Suzanne Du Bois and Ian MacKenzie of The Cheesecake Shop, Findon, who were named the SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, more than two staff for 2015.

First Class Accounts continued their success at this year’s Seek Commercial FCA Regional Excellence in Franchising Awards – having already taken home awards at both the Queensland/Northern Territory and Victoria/Tasmania Awards presentations in July and August – with First Class Accounts, Glenelg, franchisee Darren Butterick named the SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff.

Darren Butterick - SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff

Also successful on the night was Nathaniel Rowe of Gelatissimo, who won the SA Field Manager of the Year Award for 2015.

Suzanne and Ian have been franchisees with The Cheesecake Shop for 18 years, but have a friendship that stretches back more than 35 years.

“We’ve put our heart and soul into this shop,” said Suzanne. “We’ve been blessed with always having fabulous team members and we’re best friends. It’s always easy to bring that passion to work every day when you work with your best friend.”

“Our ethos has always been that you have to like the people you’re going to be working with, they have to be a good fit and they have to like us for them to enjoy their working experience,” said Suzanne. It’s a philosophy that has been good for business, but has also seen Suzanne and Ian attend five weddings for previous staff members and named godparents of one staff member’s child.

Ian MacKenzie and Suzanne Du Bois - SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, more than two staff

Having also been named The Cheesecake Shop’s 2013 and 2014 Franchisees of the Year for SA/NT, Suzanne and Ian recognise the importance of sharing their successes with their staff.

“It’s been good for our staff to get that acknowledgment because they’re very committed to customer service and the standards that we have with our little team. We’ve tried to say very clearly  that it’s a team award,” said Suzanne.

Chris Scott, who arrived in Australia from the United States in 1997, opened his first Zambrero store, just the sixth in the franchise, in Adelaide’s Rundle Street in February 2010, adding his Hindley Street store the following year.

“It was a big change of life,” Chris said of becoming a franchisee. “I like to compare it to having a child – your life is never the same again.”

“I think we’ve brought a good style of food to Adelaide. We’ve done well within our team, our culture and providing employment. We’re having fun doing it and it’s been rewarding all around,” said Chris.

First Class Accounts franchisee Darren Butterick started his business two-and-a-half years ago with no leads or prospective clients. He has since grown it to the point where he is now engaging a part-time contractor to service his client base.

“It was a big change from being in secure employment, so I was keen to have the support of the franchise system,” said Darren of his decision to become a franchisee. “Being able to work on my own but not be alone was the reason I decided to become a franchisee. I’m really glad that I did.”

Following their success, all winners have qualified as finalists for the MYOB FCA National Excellence in Franchising Awards. The Gala Dinner will be held at RACV Royal Pines on the Gold Coast on Tuesday 13 October at the culmination of the National Franchise Convention.



  • SA Multi-Unit Franchisee of the Year: Chris Scott, Zambrero
  • SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, two or more staff: Suzanne Du Bois and Ian MacKenzie, The Cheesecake Shop, Findon
  • SA Single Unit Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff: Darren Butterick, First Class Accounts, Glenelg
  • SA Field Manager of the Year: Nathaniel Rowe, Gelatissimo